Reviews

Want to tell the world about your visit to Frances’? Toss us a nice review on Yelp or Facebook!

Tabitha T. Avatar

5 star rating I came just for the Mimosas absolutely love them, they change them often so I'd like to go back for the new flight to try

Tabitha T. 6/30/2022
Stephanie Sanchez Avatar

By far, my favorite breakfast/brunch place in the city! I typically don’t eat breakfast… however, because of this place I will be craving breakfast all the time now! Their waffles were so good! Great tasting food! Great tasting drinks! Beautiful atmosphere! The decorations are super cute! The waitresses were super attentive and friendly! Most welcoming restaurant I had been to in a long while! Highly recommend this place! 🙂 can’t wait to go back!
Oh! & you def get the French vibes with the surroundings 🇫🇷💯🤍

Stephanie Sanchez 6/29/2022
Ali M. Avatar

4 star rating So I'm a little torn here because some of the items we ordered were out of this world however some were just okay. The cinnamon roll pancakes and the latkes were amazing. On the other hand our truffle French fries were cold (the aioli also didn't taste of truffles at all), and the bacon flight was pretty gross (also mostly ham and not bacon?). I think if you order the right things this would be an incredible brunch, but just note not everything on the menu will be 5 stars. Also the service, though super friendly, was really sparse. We had to get up and find someone to order and to ask for the check. Fun vibe inside (though very loud) and dogs are allowed on their screened in patio which was awesome!

Ali M. 6/04/2022
Lydia S. Avatar

5 star rating the first brunch spot i ever went to in chi, and probably one of the best! so many options and was fast and reasonably priced. i got the chicken and waffles and it was delicious! would recommend for a quick and delicious brunch.

Lydia S. 6/02/2022
Shefali Kosambia Avatar

This place was fully packed on a Sunday! But it’s worth the wait. The jerk chicken omelette was awesome! We had flight of French toast and it was great too! Overall awesome experience… will go again for the omelette

Shefali Kosambia 6/01/2022
Nyara Savage Avatar

OMG I came here yesterday with my son and my fiancé. I just wanna say if your looking to try something new this is the place. The chef/ owner walks around engaging with the guests. He’s very welcoming and has great conversation. The staff is amazing. Very insightful when it comes to the menu. Everything comes out fresh and well prepared in a timely manner.

In addition to how awesome the food was and the customer service . We even had the pleasure of listening to a live band play music for us while we waited on our food.

I would highly recommend eating here. They serve brunch all day. 10/10 and they even have a reward program for you to join as well.

Nyara Savage 5/30/2022
Abbie Kay N. Avatar

5 star rating This place was awesome! Everyone's brunch was delicious and our waitress was very accommodating! After reading reviews of some brunch places near where we were staying, this one seemed to have the best variety on the menu. The Mega Flight (which is what I got) was perfect. It let me try every flavor of French toast and the French toast of the week which was white chocolate raspberry. Another person got the Great since '38 which is a simple breakfast with eggs, bacon, and an English muffin. Will definitely return here if I'm ever back in Chicago!!

Abbie Kay N. 5/30/2022
Michael S. Avatar

5 star rating First time there. Food, service, outstanding. Pretty darn noisy, and with live band got really loud, but at least they tried to have real music. Loved this place. Will absolutely go back.

Michael S. 5/29/2022
Chesley M. Avatar

5 star rating Since the first visit I've been hooked and have been coming back ever since. I can't count how many times I've had the pleasure of brunching at Frances's but each and every time the food is always so comforting and mouth watering satisfaction. My only reservation about France's is that they don't accept reservations (pun intended). The window for hours of operation is 8-2pm and on weekends it gets really busy and you can expect long wait times. You have to check in with the hostess to be added to the list upon which they will text you when your table is ready and available; you have a 15 minute window to make it to your table. They also have outside seating for the people who don't mind dining outside while passerby's and onlookers huddle around while they wait to be seated. Also in the past couple of summers there has been an onslaught of bee's that dominate their outside patio area, so much to the point sometimes it becomes hard to dine and enjoy your meal. During Covid there were table time limits which I didn't care for at all. After waiting 90+ minutes it was somewhat rude and a little disheartening to be informed our dining time would be cut short because the establishments closes at 2pm. We were a larger party group and not to mention it was my mothers birthday. Outside of that and the long wait times on weekends France's still gets 5 stars. The hostess, servers, manager even the chefs have come by to acknowledge our table as we dined. The food is great, the workers are fun and informative and France's just knows how to do breakfast. As you can see my favorite is the Jerk chicken Alfredo omelette :). I love the French toast flights and how they are constantly changing the flavor of the week, always a delectable surprise. The mimosa flight is good although there are some flavors are prefer over others. The shrimp and grits are good, my only wish is that there were maybe a couple more shrimp for the price but overall France's is my first thought when I think of brunch! If you haven't tried it yet, what are you waiting on?

Chesley M. 5/28/2022
Janene M. Avatar

4 star rating It's Lincoln Park so be prepared to be immersed in the hipster vibe and having no place to park. The mimosa flight is good except for the cotton candy mimosa. The breakfast menu is from the former Batter and Berries chef, so I knew what I was in for. It is sooooo loud in there. I had to shout to talk to my companion.

Janene M. 5/27/2022
Chelsea Lux Avatar

Best place for brunch in Chicago! The food was steller. We had bagel lox spread that had a ton of fixings with it, which made it really fun to construct your lox bagel how you want it. My boyfriend and I each order an additional small stack of pancakes. You MUST get their pancakes, especially with fresh strawberries. We sat at their bar area which is first come first serve. The staff was very friendly and gave great recommendations. We saw and met the owner who was walking around and checking on everyone, he was very friendly and you could tell he loves his restaurant! I would highly recommend coming here!

Chelsea Lux 5/17/2022
Jen Ganson Avatar

I really like this spot. It's got a fun vibe and delicious food. Friendly service team. If you like mimosas, you have to go here.

Jen Ganson 5/15/2022
Luis E. L. Avatar

4 star rating Food was 10/10
Experience 9/10
We had to wait 25 min to be seated 5/10

Overall was a good experience

Luis E. L. 5/05/2022
Gabrielle E. Avatar

5 star rating We came for the mimosa flight and they did not disappoint! I usually get turkey bacon but wanted to try the jalapeño bacon so I got pork instead. It was too fresh (very porky) for me, but the little that I did eat was good. The service was great and they have fun decor throughout the building

Gabrielle E. 5/03/2022
Deandra G. Avatar

5 star rating I LOVE Frances for brunch! The food is excellent and the service is impeccable. The decor is very Instagram-able and beautiful. As well as it being black owned, definitely one of my favorite brunch places in Chicago.

Deandra G. 4/30/2022
Fayth K Avatar

This is one of the noisiest places on weekends - so much so that you need to yell in order to have a conversation. It’s unpleasant. That said, this place has great food, so go on a weekday when it is pleasant and you can enjoy a French toast flight with a side of their house made sausages without the yelling. Like a lot of places, their breakfast skillets tend to more potatoes than the good stuff, but they’re still tasty. This is also one of the few places around that still serves matzo ball soup. They also have deli sandwiches, so hot pastrami on rye is a good pairing with that soup. Service is always really nice even when it’s crowded, and you have to hand it to the weekend servers for being able to hear your order over the extremely noisy weekend crowds. If this place had better ambiance on the weekend, I’d give it 5 stars, but it’s just a bit too chaotic in there sometimes.

Fayth K 4/26/2022
Ariana P. Avatar

5 star rating Love this place! Ive enjoyed every visit. My most recent visit was my birthday. They were very accommodating to my table of 10! The mimosas were AMAZING, stronger than I expected lol. The food was delicious and the customer service was amazing! Can't wait to go back again.

Ariana P. 4/20/2022
Nathaniel Blackman Avatar

Peach Mamosa, chicken and waffles and a fajita Omelet. Took me to heaven. Love this place, always on point

Nathaniel Blackman 4/19/2022